You are currently viewing Unlock Locked Android Phone

Unlock Locked Android Phone

Independently of the PIN code associated with the SIM card, Android offers several locking solutions to protect access to a mobile device, and more particularly to the personal data it contains. Solutions that are generally implemented during initial configuration, but that it is also entirely possible to activate or modify afterwards. On recent models, you can usually use a biometric solution (fingerprint reading or facial recognition with the selfie camera). But on all models, old and new, it is possible to define a numeric code (PIN code) or a lock pattern (a path to connect dots on the screen).

Unfortunately, if this code or this unlocking pattern is forgotten, and if no biometric alternative has been defined, the mobile is blocked and the user no longer has access to anything! Logical, since it is a security measure intended to prohibit the use of the telephone or tablet by a stranger, in the event of theft in particular. However, there are solutions to unlock the device. But the method and, above all, the result vary depending on the version of Android.

Indeed, Google has reinforced the security of Android with each new version by making it more complex and even completely removing the options for bypassing a forgotten unlock code or pattern. Thus, if you have an old mobile, you can easily unlock it without losing anything. But if you use a recent model, there will be no other solution than to reset it by erasing all its contents…

If you have an old device running an older version of Android (4.4 or earlier), you can easily unlock it when you forgot the unlock code or pattern.

On the unlock screen, enter a passcode or pattern (any!) five times in a row. An alert appears stating that you attempted to unlock the device with a wrong passcode or incorrect pattern. The screen is then blocked for thirty seconds.

After this time, a new option is displayed. Press “Forgot code?” »

or “Forgot pattern? ” depending on the case. A screen for signing in to your Google account associated with the device appears. Enter the account email address and password. Your smartphone is normally unlocked.

Then go back to your mobile settings to configure a new code or a new lock pattern.

Most often, you will need to use the computer to access the Find My Phone feature. Illustrative Photo Bigstock

Android 5.0 or above

Since Android 5.0, Google has drastically strengthened security by removing the possibility of resetting a forgotten unlock code or pattern. If you have blocked your smartphone, there is no other solution than to completely reset it to restore it to factory state, with all the default settings, as on the first day. The manipulation can be carried out in two ways: the first by using the Find my device service which makes it possible to erase a mobile remotely, the second, by accessing the hidden reset menu of Android accessible using a small handling.

– With the location service: manipulation obviously cannot be done with a blocked device! Grab a computer, tablet, or other phone, launch a web browser, then go to the Find My Device service and sign in to the same Google account you used on the blocked device. This is automatically located. Then click Erase Device and confirm to erase device data.

To start the process of resetting the device to its factory settings, you must confirm your choice one last time by entering your Google account password. Then press Delete in the dialog box that appears to confirm the permanent deletion of data from the device. To use it again, you will have to reconfigure the mobile as if it were new, just out of its box.

– With the restore menu: the mobile being locked by a code or a pattern that we do not remember, we obviously cannot reset it in the normal way, from the Android settings. But you can go through a hidden restore menu, accessible at startup via the physical on-off and volume buttons.

First make sure that the battery of the mobile is well charged then turn it off. Then simultaneously press the power button (Power) and the Volume + or volume – button (depending on the model). The Android boot menu – the bootloader, in jargon – is displayed. Its appearance and option labels may vary depending on the device manufacturer, but you should easily find it, even if everything is in English. To navigate through the menus, use the Volume + and Volume – buttons. Go to the Recovery Mode option which is highlighted. To confirm your selection, press the Power button.

Once in Recovery mode, go to the Wipe data/Factory Reset option with the Volume + and Volume – buttons and confirm with the Power button. A Wipe all user data message is displayed (usually in red). Choose Yes or Factory Data Reset with the Volume + and Volume – buttons then confirm with the Power button. At the bottom of the screen, a Data Wipe Complete message is displayed confirming the reset of the mobile.

Then select the Reboot system now menu using the volume buttons, and validate with the Power button. Your mobile restarts free of any data, as it was when it left the factory. All you have to do is completely reconfigure it, just like on day one. However, you can save time by using your Google account to automatically retrieve applications and a lot of personal data (contacts, calendar, etc.).

Source: editorial and web

Independently of the PIN code associated with the SIM card, Android offers several locking solutions to protect access to a mobile device, and more particularly to the personal data it contains. Solutions that are generally implemented during initial configuration, but that it is also entirely possible to activate or modify afterwards. On the…