Twitter has started sending notifications to users while they try to take screenshots of one of the tweets on their app. Many users have reported that as soon as they take a screenshot, a pop-up notification appears asking them to share the tweet instead.
Twitter wants you to use the Share button
Twitter no longer wants you to screenshot tweets
He wants active users on the platform to view tweets INSTEAD of via screenshots on rival platforms
One of them now appears when you take a screenshot pic.twitter.com/YY0GtF3lVb
— Matt Navarra (@MattNavarra) October 7, 2022
It seems that with the new feature added, Twitter wants users to know that they no longer need to screenshot tweets as there is a share button in the app. The new feature is likely an attempt by Twitter to bring more users to its platforms rather than just reading uploaded screenshots.
Social media consultant Matt Navarra also spotted the new feature and said, “Twitter no longer wants you to capture tweets. He wants active users on the platform to view tweets rather than via screenshots on competing platforms. One of them now appears when you take a screenshot,”
“Millions of Tweets are shared every day from Twitter to other platforms. We want to make Tweets accessible to everyone, even when they leave our platform, and make it easy for others to return to the full conversation on Twitter. We are currently testing this new prompt with a small group of people on iOS to let them know there are more ways to share Tweets with their friends,” a Twitter spokesperson told TechCrunch.
How to share a tweet?
Sharing tweets is simple, one can share tweets inside and outside of Twitter. The dedicated share button allows users to share tweets with direct messages to someone or even a group of people.
Tweets can even be shared via SMS, email or a range of other apps. All you need to do is find a tweet and click the Share icon and select a contact or an app. The share button even lets you copy a link to the Tweet and share the link with others.