You are currently viewing Snapchat: how to permanently delete your account?  Our guide

Snapchat: how to permanently delete your account? Our guide

news tip Snapchat: how to permanently delete your account? Our guide

Originally released in September 2011, Snapchat has gradually made its way to become one of the most used social networks today. However, many of its users have not used their account for many years. If this is your case, you may want to delete your account. We explain how to do it, whether you are on iOS or Android.

Whether it’s to access his ephemeral conversations, his instant photos or even the famous filters that can both make you look much better or look completely ridiculous, you’ve probably already created a Snapchat account. However, over time, your use of the social network may have dropped to the point of taking up space for nothing on your phone. So of course you can always delete the app without deleting your account. But if you want to be sure that you have nothing more to do with this service, we explain how to delete your Snapchat account, on Android as on iOS.

Summary

  • Delete your account on iOS
  • Delete your account on Android
  • DISACTIVATE your account

Delete your account on iOS

If you have an iPhone or iPad, the procedure for deleting your Snapchat account couldn’t be simpler. Indeed, all you have to do is launch the application on your mobile device or tablet, log in if you have not already done so, then follow the following steps:

  • Click on your portrait at the top left
  • Click on the cog at the top right, representing the settings
  • Swipe to the “Account Actions” section
  • Click on “Delete account”

Once these steps have been completed, all you have to do is follow the instructions revealed by Snapchat to complete the deletion of your account.

Delete your account on Android

If you’ve never been a big fan of Apple products, you probably have a phone or tablet running Android. Unfortunately, for some reason, deleting your account from Snapchat’s Android app is simply not possible. Do not panic, there is still a solution.

You will need to log in to the snapchat website using any browser (Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, Safari, etc.), then click directly on “Delete my account”. Snapchat will then give you instructions on how to complete the deletion of your account.

DISACTIVATE your account

Snapchat: how to permanently delete your account?  Our guide

If you are still hesitating about completely deleting your account, and you prefer to first go through a simple deactivation so as not to lose all your data, be aware that it is unfortunately not possible to carry out such an operation on Snapchat. Indeed, the service only offers to delete your account and your data, and does not allow you to pause it for an indefinite period.

However, if you choose to delete your account and eventually find that you want to change your mind, please be aware that your data will be retained for 30 days from your deletion request. In case you want to recover them, all you have to do is log back into your account, which will no longer be considered deleted. Beyond this period, however, the deletion of your data will be final.